PDA

View Full Version : Router bit suggestions needed?

Perry Marshall
12-19-2004, 5:31 PM
Greetings from Louisville, KY. This is my first post to the Saw Mill Creek Forums, but from what I have seen, I have no doubts this is a place for some sound advice.

I'm relatively new to woodworking and I just received a new Craftsman Professional Router with fixed and plunge bases as an early Christmas present. Now, before you anybody starts in on the Craftsman brand, this router is the same as the new Bosch 2.25 HP router, only with the Craftsman branding on it.

I need to purchase some router bits for doing some cabinetry work, but I really don't know what to look for. I was thinking of purchasing a packaged set of decent bits to get started and then as I find the ones that I use most often, replace those with top quality bits. Is this a good approach?

What are the differences in the different types of carbide?
Should I get 0.25" shank or 0.5" shank, and why?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Perry

Tyler Howell
12-19-2004, 5:46 PM
Welcome Perry!

Glad to have you in the Creek. Great Bunch of folks.
I have found the 1/2" shank very solid, stable and gives repeatable preformance. The ones with a bearing guide are a great way to get started and very forgiving.
You get what you pay for. CMS and Freud have served me well. The packages are great but I think there is a lot of stuff in there you'll never use. A few quality bits, and build as you go.
Absolutely carbide.

Carl Eyman
12-19-2004, 6:26 PM