PDA

View Full Version : Exploring design possibilities - dry run

Roger Chandler
09-29-2010, 9:15 AM
I am in the process of trying to decide the exact form I want to use on a lidded vessel using two pieces of wood that match the colors of our local University. [purple & gold] I have a purple heart blank and a yellow heart blank that will have a finial when finished, using some spalted holly that John Keeton sent to me.

I wanted to do a dry run to explore the design on another piece or two before I committed to the wood for the project, and I have folks who want me to turn them something, and I can give these away, when finished.

I only had time yesterday to do the bottom of one piece that would be a possible shape [I'm not totally satisfied, and may make the corners into the legs] and it needs a couple more coats of finish, and to be buffed.]

This is my first attempt at a square edge bowl, and I will probably do a couple more trial runs and also do a lid with the finial, and will post when they get finished [I have to find the time to get to the lathe -been very busy with my job]

John Keeton
09-29-2010, 9:44 AM
Roger, pretty good dry run!

You did not actually ask for input, but if wanted, here are some possible thoughts. The bowl could be quite a bit smaller (or the square larger) so there is more overhang, and the bowl sides could be more rounded and less perpendicular.

Depending on the size you end up with, the wings could be a bit thinner, as well.

Good idea on doing a prototype or two to get the design downpat before doing the 'real thing!'

Roger Chandler
09-29-2010, 9:56 AM
Roger, pretty good dry run!

You did not actually ask for input, but if wanted, here are some possible thoughts. The bowl could be quite a bit smaller (or the square larger) so there is more overhang, and the bowl sides could be more rounded and less perpendicular.

Depending on the size you end up with, the wings could be a bit thinner, as well.