PDA

View Full Version : Tuning up a wooden smoother?

Brander Roullett
09-29-2010, 2:10 AM
I'm somewhat new to the neander world, but I'm slowly acquiring skills and tools from a variety of sources including ebay.

I got this smoother for a decent price recently, and I wanted to know what I need to do to tune it up for use?

The body is solid. I think the sole might need a little flattening.

The iron has a fairly robust camber on it. For a smoother, shouldn't it be flat? or not very cambered at least?

Blade looks to be in ok shape other than a little light rust.

Overall seems pretty good for $6.50 + $10 shipping. Not sure what the circular cut out is all about, but doesn't affect the work potential.

I grabbed the auction photos and posted them as attachments. I need to take some shots in better light for my blog anyway, but that has to wait till the weekend.

comments? suggestions? I'm a little curious if it's really a smoother because of the blade camber, but that could just be someone sharpening it wrong. Hrm.

badger

Robert Rozaieski
09-29-2010, 7:39 AM
First, sharpen it and try it. You may be amazed as these planes frequently need very little tuning since there are so few parts. If it works, don't do anything else to it. If it doesn't work, check the following and only correct one thing at a time, testing it after each correction you make, until it does work:

Check to make sure the iron is sharp.
Check the bed for good iron contact/support near the mouth and correct it if necessary.
Check the cap iron to make sure it makes good contact with the iron.
Check the wedge for a good fit to make sure it holds the iron securely and isn't trapping shavings in the mouth.
Lap the sole LIGHTLY on some 220 grit attached to a flat surface. Use pencil lines to gauge your progress and don't over do it.
Oh, and check to make sure the iron is sharp.