PDA

View Full Version : Tips for working ebony

Bill Brush
09-28-2010, 12:18 PM
I have never worked with ebony before, and I was hoping to pick up some tips.

I happened across a nice chunk of ebony at a gun show and I want to make it into a knife handle.

So what kind of challenges am I in for?

Greg Book
09-28-2010, 12:56 PM
The bad side of ebony is that it can easily chip and crack. But the good side is that is actually pretty nice to work with. It can hold an edge better than any wood I've used before. I made a set of dominoes from Gabon ebony, and it worked out very well. It took white paint and a coat of polyurethane just fine.

Prashun Patel
09-28-2010, 12:59 PM
It requires really sharp tools. The one time I used it, it looked like it had little fine grains of a a silica type substance in there. I had to resharpen often. It was hard to get shavings from my planes or spokeshaves. It generated a lot of dust. It was almost like working fine stone.

The best tool I used was a coarse tooth rasp for shaping.

george wilson
09-28-2010, 1:02 PM
Ebony does dull your tools due to minerals in it. African blackwood,a kind of rosewood,was preferred in the 19th.C. for turning because it isn't so dulling of tools.

Shiraz Balolia
09-28-2010, 2:34 PM
I have never worked with ebony before, and I was hoping to pick up some tips.

I happened across a nice chunk of ebony at a gun show and I want to make it into a knife handle.

So what kind of challenges am I in for?

I use a lot of Ebony in guitar building. It is one of my favorite woods because of the way it finishes.