PDA

View Full Version : Jointerless Woodshop?

Craig Regan
09-26-2010, 7:59 PM
Is it possible to produce good work in a shop that has no jointer?

Bill Huber
09-26-2010, 8:14 PM
I think so, I have one but its not much of a jointer, I just use it to flatten a board now and then.

With the really good blades we have now, that make a glue ready cut I don't see why not.

Now I am just a hobbyist....

Van Huskey
09-26-2010, 8:16 PM
Sure.. plenty of ways to edge joint without a jointer and face jointing can be done on the planer. Without a planer it gets harder...

You could build with hardwood plywood and S4S wood but you would be severely limited in many ways AND the costs of a decent small planer and jointer would be spent pretty quickly on the extra costs of S4S wood.

Consider a small jointer and planer can be had for under $600 it seems like a hard row to hoe to do without them.

Jamie Buxton
09-26-2010, 8:19 PM
Sure. It depends a bit on what you want to build. For instance, turners don't have jointers, and can produce jaw-dropping woodwork. For another instance, there's a company down the street from me that makes Euro-style cabinets, and I don't think they have a jointer. So you might be more specific about what you intend to build.

Peter Quinn
09-26-2010, 8:19 PM
Yes, but it's not really possible to do fine work with joinery unless your boards are flattened, and a jointer is a fine way to flatten boards quickly. So use a jointer, or use some other method, but be ready to prepare your material flat somehow. Even curved work generally gets flattened first! I suppose you will find exceptions in specialized cases where stock is never really flattened but good work is achieved, there are always exceptions, but these are few.

Nathan Callender
09-26-2010, 9:57 PM