PDA

View Full Version : A question for the dying experts- Steve?

Ray Bell
09-26-2010, 4:45 PM
I want to make a pedestal for a rather large bowl. The pedestal will be somewhere around 5" tall x 6" dia at the bottom. I want this to be black, or very dark brow. Looking on the web for African Blackwood, or Ebony, any thing this size is prohibitively too expensive. Would it be feasible to turn a more common wood, and dye this dark? What wood and dye would you use?
TIA, Ray

Steve Schlumpf
09-26-2010, 4:52 PM
Ray - I'm not an expert but I have dyed maple black with no problem. So, I would think you could use whatever wood you have on hand and then just dye it.

Ray Bell
09-26-2010, 5:02 PM
Ray - I'm not an expert but I have dyed maple black with no problem. So, I would think you could use whatever wood you have on hand and then just dye it.

Thanks Steve. Dye it with what..Rit?

Greg Ketell
09-26-2010, 5:15 PM
American Woodworker just had an article on finishing. Their "ultra black" was a wash of tanin followed by two "coats" of a steel-wool dissolved in vinegar. Makes it dark black but allows the grain to show through nicely.

Prashun Patel
09-26-2010, 5:26 PM
I'd use aniline dye or india ink. I recall a thread John Keeton did a little while ago where he did this with some lessons learned. He has pics.

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=135758&highlight=ebony+ivory

Steve Schlumpf
09-26-2010, 5:42 PM
Ray, when I dyed mine I used RIT and it worked. I seem to remember that it needed a couple of coats to get it to the deep black that I wanted.

Since that time, we had a demo at our turning club meeting and Marc Himes used the vinegar/dissolved steel wool solution that Greg mentioned and within 10 minutes the wood was as black as anything I have ever seen! Then you just sand it back a little to get the grain to show through and apply the finish of your choice.