PDA

View Full Version : Tape Measure Question

Raymond Fries
09-25-2010, 7:58 PM
Ok Ladies and Gents - Help me out here...

...After all the years I have been a woodworker, it is finally time to get an answer to my question:

Why does the hook on the end of a tape measure move instead of being stationary? There must be a good reason as all of them are like this.

Dan Hintz
09-25-2010, 8:02 PM
It moves the thickness of the hook. When you measure inside of a length, it measure the same amount as if the hook was on the outside...

EDIT: To make it a bit more clear... this distance from the outside of the hook (when pushed in) to the 1" mark is the same as the distance from the inside of the hook (when pulled out) to the 1" mark... 1".

Jim Rimmer
09-25-2010, 8:07 PM
It moves the thickness of the hook. When you measure inside of a length, it measure the same amount as if the hook was on the outside...
+1 That's what I've read many places.

Raymond Fries
09-25-2010, 8:13 PM
... to simple and it makes perfect sense.

Thanks

Peter Quinn
09-25-2010, 8:14 PM
I have a flexible panel tape that sits flat on sheet goods but does not take inside measurements. Its hook is fixed. 1++ on hook moves to keep inside measurements "Accurate".

Will Overton
09-25-2010, 8:20 PM
I have a flexible panel tape that sits flat on sheet goods but does not take inside measurements. Its hook is fixed. 1++ on hook moves to keep inside measurements "Accurate".

And less accurate over time as the hole elongates. One reason to always use the same tape throughout a project. It's often ok for a measurement to be off, as long as it is consistent.

Raymond Fries
09-25-2010, 8:22 PM
...even if it meant two seperate measures.

I have a nice 12" hook steel rule that is always my first pick.

Maybe I should look into some thing like what you have Peter as I was not aware of the product.

Lance Norris
09-25-2010, 9:51 PM
And less accurate over time as the hole elongates.