PDA

View Full Version : SMC Design Critiques #1

Mark Singer
12-22-2004, 3:30 PM
I thought it might be fun and a learning experience to post a photo of a piece of furniture...not made by one of our members and give it the "Ebert and Roper" style critique. Tell us what you like and don't like about the piece. If you hate it ,say so! Only important thing is tell us why. Is it out of style...is it trying to hard to be different, does it look uncomfortable, impractical...in detail. I think from this open dialogue much can be learned and since it is not made by one of us ...honesty is fine, be brutal if you must. I am kicking it off with a chair....this will stay posted for one week at which time it will be replaced with a new item and the critiques begin again. If you have ideas for upcoming critiques send them to me via private messages and I will review and pick one. Have fun!

Aaron Koehl
12-22-2004, 4:05 PM
Being a musician, I tend to like any piece with us in mind. :) I like the shape and spaced slats, and the base looks wide and stable, which is always a good quality in a practice chair. If it is to be used for playing the guitar, the back probably won't be used too much, as many guitarists tend to lean forward. I assume this particular guitar player will have a foot stool nearby--though that might just be a personal preference.

It looks to me like it should be a chair for a cellist with nice posture.

Overall, I like the piece, as the design is appealing to me both initially and after looking at it. I might be singing a different story after sitting in it. ;)

Jim Becker
12-22-2004, 4:15 PM
22 December 2004 - Guitarist's Chair

What I like:

Thoughtful design for the posture of the occupant which could easily be adjusted via "fitting" to be comfortable for an individual