PDA

View Full Version : new handles for a pair of D8's maybe?

Robert Culver
09-18-2010, 6:34 AM
Ok so I am wrapping up the handle on my Disston #7 and I have two D8's a rip with the thumb hole and the second is a cross cut with a standard handle both handles are in fair shape but do have some chipping. The steel cleaned up great on the cross cut saw it had some kind of thin film on it almost looked like pine risen and wax the rip saw was pretty rusty but came out good I think I may have to have this saw jointed and retooled as there is some pitting in the teeth. I am not sure how to handle this as I am no pro at this. Anyway the saw plates have a radius on them so I am wondering how to make new handles for them even if I wanted to has anybody done this would the saw lack structural integrity if the slot for the saw plate went all the way through the handle. I had such a great time with my other saw that I would really like to make new handles for these also but I don’t want to go through all of that just to find that I have to handles that don’t work right on the saws. Wihile the originals will stay with me I think I can make a nicer handle. The saws will be user saws for me but for me after redoing the D7 it would be worth it. This may sound kinda hocky to some because its just a saw but when I hold but handles for the d7 in my hand although they are very simalar in shape and size. The one that I made has more of an energizing feel to it.:rolleyes:

Klaus Kretschmar
09-18-2010, 7:56 AM
Robert,

Iīve made a thumbhole handle shaped like the D 8 out of pear. The blade slot is straight since I donīt have the tool to make it curved. But that shouldnīt be a problem as I think. However itīs not finished and was therefore not mounted on a blade yet. Her some pics:

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_8mxkzBCYMc4/S71ozjZ9CAI/AAAAAAAAAYE/VUvhEBqIpqI/s1600/CIMG1607.JPG

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_8mxkzBCYMc4/S71o0CJRvJI/AAAAAAAAAYU/L6042K19lBg/s1600/CIMG1612.JPG