PDA

View Full Version : Intro, Epilog Summit and fume removal

Jeff Saltzman
09-14-2010, 9:40 PM
I've been lurking for a few months, figuring I wouldn't get a laser for quite a while. I'm a hobbyist (electronics mostly) and could imagine using a laser for making small cases, front panels, solder masks stencils, maybe removing a coating for circuit board etching, some sculptural items, signs, and etching tech products for friends and maybe for money.

But it sounded so expensive to go for a first class machine just for hobby stuff, and these forums got me nervous about the less expensive commodity imports, so I set up Google alerts and RSS feeds for different sites, hoping for a lucky break.

Then last Tuesday I got a Google alert about an old Epilog for sale on Craigslist, and by Saturday night I had the 1994 Epilog Summit 25 in my house, test cutting paper and tongue depressors like there was no tomorrow! The machine was previously used in a trophy company but got mothballed years ago when it was replaced. It came with its own PC with Windows 98 and CorelDraw 10-- turnkey system! They even threw in a rotary attachment and walked me through every detail they could remember. VERY reasonable price for the whole system :)

I called Epilog and Ian was nice enough to mail me a manual, though I haven't gotten it yet. I've been happy to see Epolog folks posting in forums and only hear good things about their support-- so happy I ended up with one of their machines, albeit a very early model.

The big issue now is a fume removal system, curious if anybody has a good recommendation. I've been talking to an Electrocorp rep and have inquiries in at Purex and Sentry. Are there other companies worth a look?

Anyway, nice group of folks here; I look forward to learning and sharing as I get used to working with my laser!

Gary Hair
09-14-2010, 9:49 PM
Welcome to the creek and congrats on your laser!