PDA

View Full Version : Need Technique Advice to Stop Tool Marks

Eric Jacobson
09-09-2010, 8:39 PM
I love making bowls except for one thing; sanding out tool marks on the inside of the bowls. boring!

I'm sure my problem is technique. I'm a newbie and prefer to use the same tool (with the same grind) for the entire bowl. I use either a 1/2" or 3/8" bowl gouge. I sharpen it with a Wolverine arm set at 50 degrees (with a Raptor jig) and a Vari-grind on the middle setting. Anyway, it comes out looking like the picture below. I guess it has a 55 degree bevel on the nose.

I try to provide good tool rest support but just can't seem to get smooth curves on the inside of the bowl. I try my scraper every once in a while but I can't seem to make it work either. In the end, I resort to 80 grit sanding discs and it takes 20 minutes to get the tool marks out, which are normally just below the rim on the curvy sides of my bowls.

I've taken some lessons and I've learned some basic things like, pushing straight in with my right hand (not with my left hand), riding the bevel. Keeping the blade a bit above the center point, keeping good tool rest support, slowing down as I near the center, maintaining a sharp tool edge.

My instructor did some weird thing where he grinded out the bottom of the gouge on the side of the coarse grinding wheel so the bevel's heel wouldn't scrape, is that necessary?

I've thought about throwing more money at it like trying one of those curvy bowl tool rests or one of those Sorby 45 degree shear scraper cutters but maybe I need to go take some more lessons?

What do you think?

Robert McGowen
09-09-2010, 9:05 PM
You will probably get numerous opinions, so here is mine!