PDA

View Full Version : Small bowl blank mounting

Prashun Patel
09-09-2010, 1:55 PM
I'm new to the lathe, and am starting with some 3x3 and 4x4 scrap that I'd like to turn into small bowls.

I realize this is a basic question:

What's the best way to mount the blank to the headstock for inside turning? The center wood screw is a little too long and seems like it'll poke thru the inside. However, the faceplate is too wide to mount to the bottom of the bowl once the outside's tapered.

I don't think I can make a big enough recess into which the chuck jaws can grab.

I have a Delta 46-460 with a Nova 3d chuck.

How do you guys do it?

Roger Chandler
09-09-2010, 2:03 PM
I'm new to the lathe, and am starting with some 3x3 and 4x4 scrap that I'd like to turn into small bowls.

I realize this is a basic question:

What's the best way to mount the blank to the headstock for inside turning? The center wood screw is a little too long and seems like it'll poke thru the inside. However, the faceplate is too wide to mount to the bottom of the bowl once the outside's tapered.

I don't think I can make a big enough recess into which the chuck jaws can grab.

I have a Delta 46-460 with a Nova 3d chuck.

How do you guys do it?

You can glue on a waste block to go in your chuck, then true it up, and you will be able to utilize the entire blank you want to turn. Just turn off the waste material when you finish up the bottom.

Sean Hughto
09-09-2010, 2:15 PM
I think the "best way" - certainly most convenient - is a scroll chuck. I much prefer having the chuck grab a tenon than expand into a recess, but both work. It's a lot easier (at least in my experience) to break the piece in the expanding mode. For small bowls, the Oneway Talon is a great choice. Others may be great too, but my direct expereince is with teh Talon and Stronghold.

John Keeton
09-09-2010, 4:04 PM
Sean, Prashun already has a G3 chuck, and I think he is asking about technique with the use of that chuck.