PDA

View Full Version : 220 V switch query

Jim N Burke
09-08-2010, 8:27 AM
All,
I'm new to SMC and I've already used your recommendations setting up my duct collection (i.e. HF 2HP, Wynn Filter, Thein Can topper) - works a charm.

I have three machines that need rewiring and want to set them up for 220. Looking for switches similar to the MLSC 9072 on Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/MLCS-9072-Safety-Motor-Switch/dp/B002SW2N62/ref=pd_cp_hi_3) but higher quality. Can anyone recommend a switch and supplier?

Somewhat related: Has anyone set up an HF 2HP DC motor for 220? It doesn't look like it can, but I've only pulled the switch cover.

Thanks,

Jim

glenn bradley
09-08-2010, 8:47 AM
Welcome. Perhaps you could be more specific about what you mean by higher quality? Grizzly has an array of switches; magnetic (http://www.grizzly.com/products/Magnetic-Switch-Single-Phase-220V-Only-1-HP/G4571) and not (http://www.grizzly.com/products/110-220V-Paddle-On-Off-Switch/H8243). Although some folks use a single pole switch to operate 220v I like to stick with opening both hot leads.

Prashun Patel
09-08-2010, 9:23 AM
Check out Grizzly. They have a variety of switches.

What tools are you operating? You might not need to modify the switch. I rewired my jointer for 220v, and it just involved changing the motor wiring after the switch.

Jim N Burke
09-08-2010, 9:28 AM
Glenn,
The reviews for the MLC switches were mixed and they sounded like they might be poorer quality. The Grizzly ones look to fit the bill. Thanks.

Dan Hintz
09-08-2010, 11:19 AM
I would never use a single pole to switch 220V... leaving one leg energized is a recipe for potential electrocution. Kind of like the idiot who owned the house before me and decided it was acceptable to switch the neutral leg of light sockets :(

Chip Lindley
09-08-2010, 11:23 AM
...I have three machines that need rewiring and want to set them up for 220....