PDA

View Full Version : Sharpening causes steel to fold over.

David Vanvorst
09-07-2010, 10:55 PM
I have been using hand tools for a few years, but I am still a beginner at sharpening.

I got by for a few years using diamond stones, stopping with the extra fine stone (.9 micron, around 1200 grit). A few months ago I got a variable speed bench grinder and a Norton 4000/8000 combination waterstone. I took a lot of time to flatten and polish the backs of my blades, used the grinder to remove some chips, and polished the blades to a beautiful shine on the 8000 stone.

Now, I am having trouble with my blades. After sharpening, they work great for a short while, then the steel folds over. It is a significant fold, much larger than my scraper burrs. It is a very ugly fold that is not even. On a hand plane, the plane just stops working. The fold does not happen suddenly, it usually grows over a dozen or more strokes.

This even happens on my LN blades and Ashley Isles chisel, so I don't think it is the quality of the steel. I never put the Ashley Isles chisel on the grinder, so it must be my technique on the stones (or the stones themselves).

I've tried using the cheap honing jig and the Veritas MK II jig. I've tried following the Norton instructions of never bothering to remove the wire edge (sufficient polishing at 8000 is supposed to remove the wire edge), I've tried flipping the blade back and forth polishing the bevel and back, and I've tried Charlesworth's ruler trick on the back.

I've had the best luck when I make only a single very light pass on the back of the blade with the ruler trick. The best solution has been to sharpen, and when the steel just starts to fold, I make a few light passes on the 8000 stone to remove the fold, but it is difficult to get a clean edge this way.

After spending hours flattening the backs of my blades, I am loath to scratch them up, so I usually only use the 8000 stone on the backs.

What could be causing my problem?

Thanks,