PDA

View Full Version : My new (old) big (smaller) planer

Rusty Eads
09-07-2010, 3:44 PM
I have been using a Ryobi 13" planer for the past 6 years and have been happy with it, just not ectsatic. The knives dull quickly and are not resharpenable (though a breeze to change). I came across this old Belsaw 9103 12" planer on CL for $350. It came with a 5 hp 220 volt motor and 7 never before used molding knives. I decided it was worth a look so I called the guy and before I got off the phone with him he told me he would take $300 for it. I drove over there and was extremely impressed with the machine. He ran a piece of rough cut walnut through and took nearly 1/8" off in one pass, something my little lunchbox couldn't even dream of doing. I then noticed sitting in the corner of his shop... the rip saw attachment for it. Plus he threw in an extra saw blade, two manuals and a roller stand. It needs a bit of a cleaning but it is in otherwise perfect shape. While I am losing an inch in width, I don't think I will be disappointed. The guy also said that he has ran about 900 board feet through it and has yet to sharpen the blades (I have ran about the same through my ryobi but am on my 3rd set of knives). With the new 5 hp motor that is on it, I don't think I will ever have to worry about it bogging down.

I know that I didn't steal the machine but I feel like a got a pretty good deal on it. Does anybody have a Belsaw planer? What do you guys think about this old beast? At a little over 300 lbs, it is quite a bit heavier than my 60 lb portable.

Van Huskey
09-07-2010, 3:49 PM
Beats the heck out of a lunchbox... you suck!

Don Jarvie
09-07-2010, 4:02 PM
I have the same one and it's awesome. I gave mine a complete rehab with new paint, roller bearings and new knives. Mine has a 3hp Wagner R/I motor that weighs close to 80 lbs itself and will cut through anything.

Mine didn't come with the saw attachment and I don't see the use for it.