PDA

View Full Version : Photo Engraving and pricing advice

Larry Folk
09-07-2010, 3:25 PM
Hello all,
I am fairly new to the forum, having only posted a few times, but I have been reading as many of the old threads as I can trying to learn all that there is to know about lasering.
Attached are some photos of awards that I did today with the 1-Touch Laser photo software. This is my first attemp with photos and I am curious about how this software stacks up against the other photo software out there. Doing these with this software was very easy.
I just saved the processed file and copied it into my corel file and lasered on my Epilog laser. The photos don't look as good as they really came out.

My other question is what would some of you charge a client for doing these? They are all Alder wood plaques (5)-7x9, (2)-8x10, (9)-9x12 and one 10x14. I provided the photos and came up with the design of the plaques. The gold tags are 1/16" lasered plastic.

I am a registered architect, but looking to add an engraving business to suppliment our income since construction is in the dumps.

Thanks

Dan Mazurak
09-07-2010, 4:03 PM
Asking what to charge is a flawed question, a person with a Manhattan storefront would charge alot more than someone in the Iowa country that sold via internet.

Figure your costs and add a profit that you are comfortable with, that is the right price to charge.

Andrew Mammoliti
09-07-2010, 4:45 PM
Hey larry, nice work there, you can even take out the background on some of the photos as well. I have 1 Touch as well and find it very easy to use as well. I also have Photograv 3, but I can not get it to give me the same results as 1 touch. :)

Terry Swift
09-07-2010, 5:41 PM
Larry,