PDA

View Full Version : Opportunity to buy a Boice Crane shaper - go for it?

Matt Day
09-06-2010, 12:07 AM
I found a Boice Crane shaper locally for $100 and was wondering if I should invest in it. From what I can tell it's a model 2100, probably built in the 60's, with a 1HP model. It looks in pretty good shape and likely just needs a going over to make sure everything works smoothly and some cleaning of the top CI.

I use a router currently in my TS wing, and it works pretty good. I have a small shop right now and I don't think I'd really have room for it now, but we'll be moving in about 10 months (hopefully buying) and I'll have more room then. I have never really found myself saying "I need a shaper for this task" while using my router table.

I've never used a shaper before but assume it's basically a big table mounted router. I don't have any shaper cutters of course, so I'd have to invest in some.

I wonder if this would be a good project, or if it's not worth it. Any input would be great - thanks!

jared herbert
09-06-2010, 7:23 AM
I have a very small craftsman shaper. It is really a handy thing to have around. For a hundred bucks I would buy it in a minute. You would be surprised how much you might use it. Jared

Rusty Eads
09-06-2010, 7:43 AM
I have a WWII era boice crane 24" scroll saw that is a monster. I can vouch for the quality of their product, they knew how to make'm. I'm sure you can find plenty of uses for the shaper.

Carroll Courtney
09-06-2010, 7:48 AM
Providing there are no hidden problems such as crack or broken casting and the bearings are in good shape its well worth it.Replacing bearings is no problem and hopefully the motor is in good shape and the spindle is 1/2 or 3/4.You can make or purchase a moble base to move it out of the way,and cutters are cheaper than router bits.It cannot replace the router,but they do complement each other.