PDA

View Full Version : Easy Wood Tools?

Ned Ladner
09-05-2010, 8:58 AM
From those of you with experience with easy wood tools, do you feel they are an adequate (or superior) replacement for your complete arsenal?

Or, do they complement conventional woodturning tools?

As a researching beginner, I've read posts on other forums that tend to indicate that they "do it all", and better, so is there any point to investing in other tools such as scrapers, gouges, etc.?

Nate Davey
09-05-2010, 9:20 AM
I don't think they entirely replace "traditional" tools. They are a nice supplement to them. That being said, my brother was here and turned an entire closed form with nothing more than my rougher and the finishing tool. Needed all most no sanding. So take that for what it is worth...

Ken Glass
09-05-2010, 10:20 AM
Ned,
I use the easy rougher tools on most blanks, but not all, to start with, then out come the other tools to finish up.

Bernie Weishapl
09-05-2010, 10:24 AM
I guess you could use these tools exclusively but I would use them to compliment my other tools. I don't have any of those tools so can't comment on them. I would not buy them to replace my traditional tools.

Alan Trout
09-05-2010, 10:54 AM
This is my take on them. I own one and do use and like the tool very much. It gives me an option that I did not have before but I still feel it is very important for a beginner to learn to use conventional tools first. Then if you want to add these tools to your arsenal they are great. There are things you can do with a conventional tools that you cannot do with EWT. but you have to learn these techniques first.

Proper use of conventional tools come from instruction, be it paid or by mentoring. You need to join a local club if possible or pay and take a class these things will pay bigger benefits than any tool you ever buy.