PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Opiniions

Keith E Byrd
09-05-2010, 7:39 AM
I am a hobbiest woodworker. When I make projects, blanket chests, tables, toy boxes etc my wife has been suggesting that I make them look old, distressed or rustic. What are your thoughts on making furniture pieces this way and why?
My response has been I work hard to make the piece with good joints, design and finish - why would I want someone to think I made an old or sloppy piece?

Lee Koepke
09-05-2010, 8:21 AM
There is a difference between 'old and sloppy' and 'distressed'.

The standard answer is 'it depends'. Making something to compliment a surrounding decor or persons particular interest.

Rustic (or distressed) does NOT mean low quality.

Darrin Vanden Bosch
09-05-2010, 9:17 AM
when I make something old and distressed I use reclaimed lumber, usually Chestnut. When I'm done I have an instant antique.

Darrin

Van Huskey
09-06-2010, 12:07 AM
I agree with the comments but I have a different personal opinion. I have always felt distressed items were best left to the mass market. I think of distressing as being character much like that of a man, we aren't given character but it is learned and developed over time. Maybe it is an odd sentiment but I feel like distressed furniture is a lie. I understand the need or desire to match pieces and make a cohesive unit with furniture, however this is a modern (but not current) value. I make a piece as perfect as I can (with my humble skills) and figure if I build it well enough and impart function and design that maybe not timeless does at least age well, the piece will be cherished and used until it is "distressed" the piece has then earned its right to have scratches, dents and wear. I know I may sound crazy but alas it is how I feel.

I am also loath to use anything but (more or less) clear finishes on wood but my faith in this conviction is far weaker than that of distressing a piece.