PDA

View Full Version : Roughing green bowls - advice please...

Chris Colman
09-02-2010, 11:35 PM
I am just beginning to work with green wood, roughing bigger bowls and filling racks in my garage with roughed out blanks.

My largest bowls so far have been 12 inch diameter, because that is the maximum I can turn over the bed. The head does swivel, so I can turn bigger stuff, but I have not done so yet.

My problem is that the lowest speed my lathe will turn is about 600 rpm. (Grizzly with a reeves drive) At that speed, with a 12 inch blank that is even slightly out of balance, the lathe really wants to bounce around until I can get the blank rounded out. :eek: Surface speed on the outside diameter is kinda scary too, when the gouge is biting only intermittently at first.

You veteran turners let me know what you think. Am I just a chicken, or are we getting into the danger zone here, over 12 inch diameter at 600 rpm on rough hewn blanks. Unfortunately I have no plans or finances to get a nice variable speed lathe in the near future, so that option is out. Do I need to stay with the smaller stuff, or is there a way to slow a reeves drive down?

Your advice is greatly appreciated.

David DeCristoforo
09-02-2010, 11:43 PM
I'm with you...

http://www.daviddecristoforo.com/Misc/chicken.gif

When that puppy starts bucking around like that, it makes me think that maybe this was not such a great idea after all... It's probably a hilarious sight... me chasing my lathe around with a sharp chisel in my hand1

Art Kelly
09-02-2010, 11:52 PM
Use a short power cord so the lathe can't leave the property...:D

Oh yeah, and keep the work between centers at all costs. Check the integrity of the drive and tail centers often. Wear PPE.

$0.02
Still shakin'
Art

David E Keller
09-02-2010, 11:58 PM
Sounds like things are a little sketchy... The best advice is probably to avoid anything that seems unsafe.