PDA

View Full Version : Do I Need a Jointer?

Josh Kandiko
12-13-2004, 6:17 PM
Hi all,

I'm new here and love reading about your guys' projects and shops. I recently inherited a complete woodworking shop. This is what I have at my disposal.

Table Saw
Lathe
Grinder
Sander
Band Saw
Router
Drill Press
Radial Saw
Router Table

Now my question is, I would like to get into cabinet making and picture framing. Everything I read says that the wood first needs to be extremely straight for the pieces to work correctly together and look coherent. Will I need a jointer to do this, or can getting by with what I have suit me well? I'm no professional wood worker, but enjoy my hobby and want it to look nice. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Guys,

Josh

Jim Becker
12-13-2004, 6:24 PM
Welcome to Sawmill Creek, Josh! A nice place to hang out...

IMHO, the jointer is one of the most important tools in conjunction with the table saw and planer. It's part of the "work triangle" that lets you product flat and straight components and yes, that preparation work will make for better joinery. Can you build fine projects without one? Sure and many folks do. But I'd not give up my jointer for anything! And in case you missed the reference to flat above...edges are only one thing you use a jointer for...the face needs treatment, too. Flat lumber with straight edges that are perpendicular to the flat face are what you are shooting for.

Maurice Ungaro
12-13-2004, 6:27 PM
Fisrt of all, welcome to The Creek! Secondly, there are a couple schools of thought here, Josh:

1) Since you inherited the tool selection, you might be able to afford a jointer.

2) You might not need an electrified jointer, but get by nicely with a #7 or #8 jointer plane (that's a hand tool - you power it).

Either way, you should become proficient in sharpening, because powered jointers and handplanes have one thing in common - they'll need to have their blades sharpened to be effective.

Maurice