PDA

View Full Version : Bowl Boiler

Christopher K. Hartley
08-31-2010, 3:31 PM
I just got my boiler set up and thought I'd share the pics. I'm looking forward to using it as soon as the shop is back up.:)

Jim King
08-31-2010, 3:46 PM
It looks like it will work great. I would suggest that after boiling you leave the blanks in the water over night to cool for the best results. I rough turn and boil everything with excellent sucess.

Chris Colman
08-31-2010, 4:04 PM
Please educate the newbie here...

I am just beginning to rough and turn green wood.

What is the purpose of boiling?

I have been roughing the green wood, wrapping it in paper and drying several months until dry. Then re-mounting for final turning and finishing.

Is there an easier or quicker way?

Christopher K. Hartley
08-31-2010, 4:21 PM
Please educate the newbie here...

I am just beginning to rough and turn green wood.

What is the purpose of boiling?

I have been roughing the green wood, wrapping it in paper and drying several months until dry. Then re-mounting for final turning and finishing.

Is there an easier or quicker way?Chris, Jim is the master at this and so is Steve Russell so here are his links. Steve is a Professional Production Turner and the President of Lone Star Woodturners Association.

http://www.woodturningvideosplus.com/drying-green-wood.html
http://www.woodturningvideosplus.com/boiling-protocol.html
Chris, I started out using DNA but the results leave much to be desired and the expense is a factor as well.:)

David Foshee
08-31-2010, 4:23 PM
Chris,
Some folks boil, some micorwave, others soak in denatured alcohol. It is all just a way to speed up the drying process.

Christopher K. Hartley
08-31-2010, 4:25 PM