PDA

View Full Version : Disston #7 Panel saw restore

Robert Culver
08-30-2010, 8:05 PM
Hello again first thanks very much for the help wrapping up my restore on my stanley #40 my Next project is going to be a full restore on a # 7 panel saw made by disston. Sweet small saw but needs some tlc Both horns have good size chips in them so Im just going to salvage the blade here. I dug around in my piles of scraps and was able to find a nice piece of cherry, walnut and mahogany that would be sutable for a new handle. So here is the situation. Its my first time attempting this and will obviously need to get set up with the proper tools to do it. I plan to do the handle,re-set and sharpen it. The guy I bought it from says it has 9 tpi but there is a #8 stamped under the handle so im thinking its actually 8tpi. So im thinking I need at min. A saw set, Saw file Slim or extra slim im not really sure here, and a rasp to shape the handle with I have a fret saw and a coping saw that should get the handle roughed out and a few carving chisles and knives. Any good books I should pick up or sharping tips will also be helpful.

Jonathan McCullough
08-31-2010, 2:00 AM
Check out Wenzloff & Sons website. They have a step-by-step tutorial on how to do make a handle. A couple of other things that would help are forstner bits for the circular concave areas around the horns and on the inside of the handle, as well as a sawmaker's rasp from Tools for Working Wood. After using the latter, I'm not sure how you can make a saw handle without one. Maybe a couple of sizes of rattail files. One tool I used recently that I also really liked was a Microplane rasp that attaches to a hacksaw frame; you can use both hands for added control and oomph. Also the large round microplane with a black plastic handle for the initial stuff around the horns.

Jim Koepke
08-31-2010, 2:31 AM
Check Vintagesaws.com there is a lot of good information there. That is where I learned to cut my teeth so to speak.