PDA

View Full Version : Please excuse the ignorance

Don Dorn
08-30-2010, 7:48 PM
I've been a woodworker for around 10 years and primarily a Neander, but have avoided turning because my experiences were not good and I assume that it's just not my thing. There are many things I'd like to build that I've avoided because of it. My desire is primarily spindle turning as opposed to pens, finials and tiny things, etc.

Not being one to give up, I want to try again and now have the correct equipment to sharpen the tools, but even in searches, I remain confused about chucks. I'm told it should be four jaw and natuarally, I don't want to spend an inordinate amount of money.

I see that Woodcraft has a Woodriver four jaw chuck on sale for $74.99. It uses two bars to tighten and friend told me to stay away from those - anything else is pretty expensive. If anyone feels like they could type a little to educate me on this, I would appreciate it.

Roger Chandler
08-30-2010, 7:57 PM
A four jaw scroll chuck is much safer than any other type of holding device, excepting a face plate with a lot of screws to hold the wood fast.

The geared type that uses a key wrench is more stable in its holding power than most ones that use the bars to tighten.

They can be used for small light stuff, but lack in holding power for most large or heavy blanks. Your friend gave you good advice, and if you want to turn the safest way, the investment will pay for itself with years of service, and you do get what you pay for.

The 3 top brands are Oneway [Stronghold or talon]. SuperNova2 by teknatool, and Vicmarc. You cannot go wrong with any of these 3. Next to the lathe itself, a chuck and turning tools are the most important things you can by for woodturning, and it just costs :( I'm sorry, but that is the reality of the turning world.

John Keeton
08-30-2010, 7:57 PM