PDA

View Full Version : Vise wisdom

Ashwini Kaul
08-30-2010, 10:28 AM
I know this is too open ended with so many options.
I am in the middle of a Roubo-Schwarz-esque workbench build: 6'wide, 2' deep and 4" thick - douglas fir.
Working on the dreaded mortices for the legs right now...
Did not research the Vises too much.
Other than benchcrafted which has a 3 week wait and can get expensive, what are my options for a leg/face vise and a tail(non-wagon) vise?
I want something solid, with little fuss and not too complicated an install as I have never done this before.
I am ok with adding the tail vise at a later time. I can compensate with dogs and holdfasts for a while.

Please advise!

Matt Radtke
08-30-2010, 10:57 AM
For a tail vise, you can look at veritas' new fast acting tail vise. On paper, it's my second favorite vise after the Benchcrafted. If you are up for a wagon vise, I built my own with some mending straps and a veneer press screw.

Leg vise: just buy a bench screw. Again, Veritas has one that'll work just fine for that. It's what I did.

Steve Branam
08-30-2010, 1:10 PM
I used this bench screw from Woodcraft for my Roubo leg vise: http://www.woodcraft.com/Catalog/ProductPage.aspx?prodid=607&ss=f3676e8b-8d3d-4305-8fe9-d35c6eb4225f#ReviewHeader

Good and heavy duty, nicely milled threads. Fine German engineering. A bit more expensive than other bench screws, but not too much.

Ashwini Kaul
08-30-2010, 1:36 PM
This looks pretty decent!
So why do folks pay the premium for the significantly expensive stuff?

Andrae Covington
08-30-2010, 2:52 PM
This looks pretty decent!
So why do folks pay the premium for the significantly expensive stuff?