PDA

View Full Version : Mesquite-Maple Vase Project

John Hart
08-29-2010, 7:19 PM
Well.. I decided to start a new project. This vase is step one. It's made from a mesquite HF that I roughed out over 3 years ago. And I added some Ambrosia maple to give it some contrast. It is 5" diameter and stands a snidge under 11" tall. Finished in rattle can lacquer.

Oh...and this is my first attempt at texturing. I've been askeered to try that....but I found an old antique texturing tool at an Amish Yard Sale...I guess the old guy was really into turning about 50 years ago. Anyway, I got the tool for 50 cents and decided to give it a go.

And...like I said..This is step one of the project. Now. I'm going to fill it with turned flowers, cattails, and timothy
Here's some of my first flower experiments. I've made a dozen more, and I'm getting better at it. Still have a ways to go though.

Roger Chandler
08-29-2010, 7:23 PM
John,

I think you have this form down to a science! You are just that good at it! and of course you have a beautiful finish that just screams for attention.

Awesome work professor Hart! ;):)

charlie knighton
08-29-2010, 7:31 PM
really like your start into flowers, i know you are still experienting, could ya give us a hint in your procedure so far????

John Hart
08-29-2010, 7:50 PM
really like your start into flowers, i know you are still experienting, could ya give us a hint in your procedure so far????

Sure Charlie

Ya go get yourself a stick. I'm using young branches off of some hedges and some young maple trees. About 1/2" to an inch in diameter. Mount securely in a chuck

With a very sharp skew..remove the bark

Then using the tool rest as a fulcrum, drive the skew in layers into the endgrain, levering the skew point down and over. This is the tricky part and why it requires young branches. You also don't want to force too much because it'll flake too far and parting off will remove some of the petals