PDA

View Full Version : Plywood Management

Jeremy Greiner
08-29-2010, 12:47 AM
I'm fairly new to wood working, and I'm building a workbench, and I've run into a dilemma.

I'm very short (5 foot even) and have several sheets of 4x8 plywood that I bought and I'm having a difficult time moving them about. It's not so much the weight as it is just very awkward due to their size (though the 3/4'' inch pieces are heavy which doesn't help)

I want to rip one of the sheets in half with my table saw (I have a porter cable contractor saw, so far I love it) but I don't see how I can do this safely.

Since it's late and the neighbors don't think too kindly to drilling and sawing at midnight, I've been pondering this dilemma and thought of a plywood lift jig of sorts.

I've attached a rough sketch of the jig, I was inspired by this other device I found online, however it's over 1,000$ (with fancy hydrolic lifts and so forth) more than what I really need.

I was curious if there are any other shorter wood workers out there and how you manage large plywood sheets and also what people think of my jig or have suggestions?

-jeremy

Gordon Eyre
08-29-2010, 12:54 AM
Your jig looks like it would work but I still would not cut a full sheet of plywood on a contractors saw. If you use four sawhorses and set the plywood sheet on them then you can clamp a guide board across it and with a hand circular saw cut it in half so that you can handle it on your table saw

ian maybury
08-29-2010, 7:20 AM
It's a bit of a perennial problem, and i suppose in the end the reason why full size panel saws that will support and align a full 8x4 exist - despite the fact that they take up lots of space.