PDA

View Full Version : New Veritas Vise

Ben West
08-25-2010, 10:28 AM
I'm in the beginning stages (lumber milling and dimensioning) of a Roubo build, and have been debating what end vise to install. I first decided on a Benchcrafted wagon vise, then changed my mind and decided on a Veritas twin screw.

Now, the decision is made. Behold the Veritas Quick-Release Sliding Tail Vise.

http://www.leevalley.com/US/wood/page.aspx?p=65746&cat=51&ap=1

For a video:
http://blog.woodworking-magazine.com/blog/Video+Veritas+Quickrelease+Sliding+Tail+Vise.aspx

Eric DeSilva
08-25-2010, 11:15 AM
I'm no mechanical engineer, but I think I would stick with the benchcrafted vise. The idea of the jaw being off-center to the screw just seems... more prone to racking or something.

Matt Radtke
08-25-2010, 1:47 PM
I'm very interested in the fast-acting tail vise as well. My only though/question about it is how robust the sliding section is.

With the BenchCrafted, you can clamp and chisel your dovetails right on the vise chop without risk to the vise (as shown in the YouTube video). Can the Veritas stand up to that? If so, I have another option when I upgrade my wagon vise.

Chris Friesen
08-25-2010, 1:54 PM
With the BenchCrafted, you can clamp and chisel your dovetails right on the vise chop without risk to the vise (as shown in the YouTube video). Can the Veritas stand up to that?

Unless you've got a seriously thick bench top it's more efficient to chop dovetails directly over a leg--in that scenario you wouldn't be right on the vise chop anyways.

Matt Radtke
08-25-2010, 2:09 PM
Anyone building a Roubo-ish bench has a seriously thick top. Mine is just over 3" and I can chop anywhere.

Specifically, I speak of: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=awLNuslxud0 at about 3:55.