PDA

View Full Version : Turnings -- Copy or Invent??

William Hutchinson
08-24-2010, 10:12 AM
I’m new to turning and excited about the endless possibilities of the art form. In researching and studying the subject I’ve come to the initial realization that the preferred path is to utilized the classical forms and concentrate on modifications in the areas of: material, surface treatment, piercing, carving and finish. The classical shapes and forms are visually pleasing and their longevity is proof of their enduring desirability.

Early masters like Rude Osolnik who pioneered artistic woodturning utilized the classic shapes, proportions and forms. Ellsworth, the father of thin-wall hollow forms, just forged the process and developed tooling but not the form. The wonderful work of Binh Pho’s paintings and piercing are utilizing classic forms. Maybe some of the pieces by Michael Hosaluk and Hans Weissflog are pushing the barriers of new acceptable forms, or are they transient anomalies? Are the works of segmented artist like Jerry Bennett, whom uses turned components and reforms them into sculptures, to be considered part of the turning genre?

I’m just curious of your preconceived thoughts when examining a chunk of wood before securing it to the lathe? Are you striving for something truly unique or tweaking the classics?

Bernie Weishapl
08-24-2010, 11:43 AM
William when I do a HF, lidded box, bowl, etc I might copy a classic form but at the same time tweak them. I try not to copy them exactly especially if I am selling them. I also try at times to come up with something unique as my turning skills improve and gain more experience. Most times I have a idea what I want to do with the wood when I put it on the lathe. I try to orient the wood for the best possible grain, figure, etc. Sometimes though the wood will dictate what it wants.:D When that happens most times it calls for a design change.

David DeCristoforo
08-24-2010, 11:45 AM