PDA

View Full Version : Looking at buying a Versa Laser 3.60, thoughts?

Nick Christensen
08-23-2010, 10:44 PM
Hello all,

I am very new to laser engraving. When I say very new I mean I have had an hour demo, but we need to buy something for our business to brand our (wooden) toys. I have CNC experience but not laser experience. I have been looking at the Universal VersaLaser 3.60. Any thoughts on this? I looked at the epilog online but the closest dealer was three states away. But there is a Universal dealer just in the next town. Anyway What are your thoughts? Anyone have experience with this machine? Thanks

Nick Christensen

paul mott
08-24-2010, 2:19 AM
It doesn't make commercial sense to purchase a laser just to brand your existing product. However, when you consider the new products and enhancements to existing products that a laser will enable you to do then that's an entirely different story.
If you have plenty of new ideas which would be suited to laser work then go for the best you can afford ;) and good fortune with your new venture.

Paul.

Zvi Grinberg
08-24-2010, 3:43 AM
Disclaimer 1 - I am a Universal Laser Distributor.
Disclaimer 2 - I work in Israel, therefore I gain nothing for assisting here.

If you need a laser, you cannot go wrong buying Universal. End of sales pitch.

If the question is about the particular model (VLS3.50), I would check and consider VLS4.60 (larger area) and VLS3.50 (same area but desktop, not platform).

Your local dealer should be helpfull to consult, provide the price differences and other options. I would also look at different laser power options.

Hope it helps.

Zvi

Nick Christensen
08-24-2010, 11:16 AM