PDA

View Full Version : A couple of hand drills and some sort of drill bits.

Joseph D'Orazio
08-21-2010, 10:24 PM
Hi. Its nice to meet yall. I have an interest in furniture making. I've purchased some basic power tools but I am in need of a good router and table.

My Father has handed me some hand drills and some bits that have been being handed down since my Great Grand Father. My Father did not use them. I want to learn to use more hand tools in this craft. I am brand new to woodworking and have no skills yet. So far I have built two little garden benches that have yet to have a finish applied.

I sought this forum out because I would like to learn about hand planes, which ones I need, how to use them, and how to care for them. As you can see, the hand tools I got from my Dad are in poor shape. I would like to restore them as best as I can. I would like to restore that drill bit box too.

Nice to meet yall.

george wilson
08-21-2010, 10:36 PM
I wonder what use he had for a speed indicator? That is usually a machinist's tool,not a woodworker's.

Joseph D'Orazio
08-22-2010, 12:01 AM
I wonder what use he had for a speed indicator? That is usually a machinist's tool,not a woodworker's.

I really dont know. I did know it was not a wood tool but I took a picture of it anyway. As far as I know, none of my recent relatives were woodworkers. I just have a want to learn how to do it. I'm in my 40's and I have to time on my hands. I am into gardening and I wouldnt mind making garden type furniture and I have a thing for wooden boxes. I would like to learn how to make a good box.

Brian Ward
08-22-2010, 12:35 AM
My Father has handed me some hand drills and some bits that have been being handed down since my Great Grand Father. My Father did not use them. I want to learn to use more hand tools in this craft. [...]