PDA

View Full Version : Router extension setup options??

Andy Maldoror
08-20-2010, 6:10 PM
I'm in a small shop, a lutherie, and i'm looking into putting a router extension on my 50's unisaw. I need to figure out which extension, which router plate, lift and/or motor to use. i have no experience with table mounted routers.

What are the differences b/t the Peachtree and the Bench dog extensions? how do they compare in quality?

I've got this vintage Rockwell Speedmatic 537 router. i think it's around 1 1/2 hp. is this small for inverted use? i'll be building instruments, routing picture frame moulding and doing some small cabinets. also i'm not sure if PC still makes these or what it's equivalent is. it's about 3 1/2" diameter...is that a standard size for a lift?
http://lh6.ggpht.com/_Pa28weKWOtg/TG7-bKiXIPI/AAAAAAAAAI0/AbM78r5PxKw/s800/537.jpg

if a larger motor would be better...what should i look for? a motor/lift combo? or i've seen mentioned a triton router that has lift capabilities built-in...any advice on these?

thanks for the help,
andy

Van Huskey
08-20-2010, 7:06 PM
I would consider building my own extension and fence.

I would use a lift and motor.

For the motor I prefer the Porter Cable 7518, it has been THE router motor for a long time, which is the reason all the serious lifts are built to fit it first, then adapted to other motors. I am a fan of the Woodpecker PRL 2 BUT you can get the Asian import version of the Jessem Master lift on clearance now for 1/2 price.

Terry Welty
08-20-2010, 8:57 PM
Or... you could pay $269 for a Triton 3 1/4 HP router with built in above table crank system, auto lock and plenty of smooth power and you won't need the lift... I like the Incra aluminum router plate with the magnet inserts...

John Coloccia
08-20-2010, 9:26 PM