PDA

View Full Version : First Large (for me) Bowl

Dave Kartzman
08-19-2010, 9:51 PM
I am a newbie turner; having started taking lessons since last November. I just finished my first 'large' bowl; 9 1/2 inches by 3 inches. The walls are uniformly 3/8" thick. I've turned some smaller bowls previously, but none of them turned out as nice as this one; in my opinion.

I gave our daughter a small bowl I made months ago, and I received her Christmas wish list. This is the first of what she would like.

I got the blank from a vendor on ebay, who called it figured maple. My teacher and I had no idea how beautiful this wood was until I rough turned it; tiger maple, spalting, birds-eye.

We rough-turned the blank and then let it soak in Turners' Choice wood stablizer (my teacher had a couple gallons in a bucket) for 24 hours and then let it drive for about a week (until I got back from my travels). The wood had barely warped during that period so it was very easy to do the final turnings. I sanded it down to 400 and then applied 4 coats of polyurethane, and then buffed it.

Sean Hughto
08-19-2010, 10:02 PM
Great bowl! Well done.

I'd call 9 1/2" about "medium" sized. ;-)

Pete Jordan
08-19-2010, 10:10 PM
Way to go, Dave!

You are well on your way to a wonderful journey.

Roger Chandler
08-19-2010, 10:21 PM
Super! Really nice work there on a nice piece of figured wood! Congratulations on your effort!

Tim Rinehart
08-19-2010, 10:29 PM
Super nice job, I hope it was fun to turn. Maple typically is. If you get a chance to get more of that wood, look at the gallery of our Moderator Steve Schlumpf. He has done some exceptional work with dying his work, and the figured wood lends itself extremely well to the treatment.
Takes a good bit of practice to get 'good' at it...but you may be one of the few which make it look easy after trying.

No hurries with that, concentrate on having fun turning and making clean chips.