PDA

View Full Version : I got a mini lathe as a gift...

Dee Gallo
08-19-2010, 2:29 PM
Hi everyone, I am usually on the Engraving part of the forum, but today I need help from the Turners!

My brother recently gave us his lathe & other stuff he bought to make pens with his son (which they are no longer doing). It is a Jet variable speed mini (JML-1014 VS). He also gave us a Grizzly drill press and some gouges.

Before I try to play with this new toy, I'd like to find out what I have. Any experienced turners out there who know something about this particular lathe and what a total novice at turning should be aware of?

I have some blank pen stock and loads of other wood to play with.

I realize this is a huge open-ended question, but what I really want to know is what to be aware of regarding the machine itself so I don't break it before I even get to use it.

Thank you all, dee

Paul Douglass
08-19-2010, 2:46 PM
That is a good little lathe and will turn many fine things including the pens. If I were you I'd get some books and DVD's about lathes and turning. There are many out there. Penn State Industries even has a free one on pen making and it is pretty good.

And before anyone else gets to say it, welcome to the vortex!

Dee Gallo
08-19-2010, 2:51 PM
Thanks Paul, good advice. I will check out books and DVDs. I've been watching some youtube videos just to get an idea of things. There are a zillion books out there - any recommended authors you prefer?

cheers, dee

Keith Westfall
08-19-2010, 2:59 PM
Dee, someone will say, (so I will too!) try and find a turning club in your area. Ask at local wood places/stores/etc and see what you find. Well worth the effort!

Like you, I'm just getting started and there is a LOT of information out there, and if you pay attention, you will see that most information contradicts all other information :( Not sure why, guess there are many ways of doing things.