PDA

View Full Version : sq drive screws - ???

Dave Lame
08-18-2010, 3:33 PM
Another novice question.

McFeeleys makes a big deal out of their "wonderful" square drive screws. Are they a substantial improvement over phillips? Are screws from McFeeleys better than HD or Lowes?

Dave

Lance Norris
08-18-2010, 3:37 PM
Ive been using square drive screws for several years now. I buy them from Hartville Hardware(Hartville Tool). I cant comment on the ones from McFeeleys, but I can tell you that they are (square drive) much better in my opinion than phillips screws. They dont slip like phillips when driving or removing. I wont ever use phillips again.

Phillip Ngan
08-18-2010, 3:38 PM
Here in Canada, we almost exclusively square drive screws. Because they "stick" to the driver more than Philips I find you can load them onto a driver and then insert the screw into its hole with the driver attached -- of course, not completely, but more so than the Philips screws. In my mind this makes the square drive easier and faster to use.

The innovation of the Philips screw was to allow the drive to cam out instead of stripping the head when the screw was fully inserted. However today even cheap drivers have a torque limiting clutch mechanism which means that its OK to use a snug fitting head such as the square head.

Dave Gaul
08-18-2010, 3:41 PM
Dave,

Square drive is a huge improvement over phillips IYAM... square drive make the bit stay put better than phillips. Some say star drive is the way to go though.

I got tired of running to HD/Lowes for screws that often break. I shopped at McFeely's website. I now have tons of screws! They have a nice assortment of 5lbs or 10lbs of screws that I use for utilitarian things, like hanging shelves/cabinets in the shop. I got one of their nice screw sets that come with the plastic bins, that I intend to make a nice storage cabinet for...