PDA

View Full Version : Coming out

Harvey Schneider
08-17-2010, 1:28 PM
Hi everybody,
I have been interacting on this forum for a couple of years, but I have never shown my work.
I have been turning for about four years with some breaks to recover from surgeries.
I do mostly bowls, with a preference for work that is in the 10 to 15 inch diameter range. Anyway the long and short of it is hear is some of my work.
Honest comments and criticism is always welcome. I don't need flattery even if it does feel good.

steven carter
08-17-2010, 1:32 PM
While you may not need flattery, you are going to be hard pressed to avoid it if you keep showing work like this! The bowls are really good, I especially like the closed forms.

Steve

David E Keller
08-17-2010, 1:35 PM
Thanks for sharing. I really like the forms on the 3rd and last pieces. I usually don't like feet on pieces, but I can't imagine that last piece without it... It seems to float. I hope you continue to show your work.

Tony De Masi
08-17-2010, 1:37 PM
Very nicely done Harvey. You, like me, are certainly not tied to one style of bowl either. I'm intrigued by the one on the bottom row middle. Looks like walnut to me but also appears to be two pieces? I also like that finish on that one as well.

Thanks for sharing.

Tony

John Keeton
08-17-2010, 1:46 PM
Harvey, you have been holding out on us!!!! That is some beautiful work - not flattery, just the honest truth. Great form on everything. I particularly like the footed bowls (sometimes I do that just to counteract David K.!:D)

Very nice work. Of course, now we need to hear more from you.:)

Roger Chandler
08-17-2010, 1:53 PM
Harvey,

No flattery needed here with these, as they speak for themselves! Good form and finish, and I like the thinness of the walls.........they look light for the size.

Is the first one Osage orange? The walnut is beautiful!

Karl Card
08-17-2010, 1:54 PM