PDA

View Full Version : First tool Gloat (and of coarse a plane type ?)

Mark Dorman
08-15-2010, 10:55 AM
I’m new to the Creek, new to the Neander way (my Dad says careful son that’s a steep slope) and new to posting as well.

So here is my first online tool gloat. Here is what I got at an estate sale.

Stanley 10” Brace #945A $4

#80 5” Scraper 4” left on blade $4 seller thought it was a spoke shave.

2 24” Cincinnati Tool company bar clamps #496A $7 each. I’ve paid less for newer clamps but I thought these were cool and I can use more clamps.

#78 with Sweet Heart blade no patent dates $30. Excellent condition has the fence but no depth stop; I found a Wards best for $6 bucks a month ago it has a depth stop. I’m guessing that it will fit.

8” Folding Drawknife C. E. Jennings Arrowhead trademark $5

Stanley #55 pat.2-28-11 $6 wasn’t sure what it was at the time but I had money left in the budget. (TYPO should have read #95 Butt Marking Gauge)

Here is the plane I’m trying to type. #7 C $15 Not sure if this one is type 15; Has Bailey on toe, Made in USA behind knob, tall knob with ring cast in bed, no patent dates, NO7 on heel no space between letters and #, Sweet Heart blade, Sticker on handle and Lateral adjuster is I think; a two part because the (please correct me if I’m wrong) little thumb tab is pressed into the lever rather than bent.

D8 skew back rip saw with thumb hole handle $4 and a D23 straight back lightweight $2.50

Slip sliding away.
Mark

George Sanders
08-15-2010, 11:32 AM
Welcome to the creek and the slippery slope. Those are some incredibly good prices. That folding drawknife could probably pay for half the other stuff you bought. I have never seen a Disston saw with two medallions before. You may have something rare if someone didn't just replace a lost saw nut with it.