PDA

View Full Version : Door Jamb Question

Tom Winship
08-14-2010, 9:31 AM
I have a friend who is building a storage shed and he asked me how much larger than the door should he make the door jamb?
I would guess 1/16" on each side or 1/8" total. What do you guys think?

Chris Harry
08-14-2010, 9:51 AM
Ive always done 1/8" on each side. It will allow for out of plumbness a little better, plus you also need to take into account the expansion and contraction of the door material.

Brice Burrell
08-14-2010, 12:10 PM
Ive always done 1/8" on each side. It will allow for out of plumbness a little better, plus you also need to take into account the expansion and contraction of the door material.

I'll second this. I'm a remodeling contractor and I've installed a ton of doors, 3/32"-1/8" per side is normal. With a shed that will be outside and likely be low to the ground where it could be exposed to more moisture, I'd go with 1/8" on each side.

Tom Winship
08-14-2010, 12:32 PM
Thanks guys. That's what I like about SMC. Instant advise from those who have experience.

scott vroom
08-14-2010, 11:43 PM
1/8" on each side is cutting it too close unless your rough opening is near perfect to square/level. My advice is to make the outside jamb width at least 1/2" narower than the RO. This will allow for adjustments to square/level. Your jamb must be level to gravity to avoid the door from swinging either opened or closed on it's own.

Peter Quinn
08-15-2010, 6:37 AM
A standard gap on passage and entry doors is 1/8" in my area. That is the gap between the door and the jamb legs/head. The bottom gap depends on the type of weather seal used, if any on a shed door. The rough opening would be the door width+2X the gap+2X jamb thickness +(1/2"-1"), or at least 1/4" and as much as 1/2" shim space per side For an unheated outdoor stucture, ou mainly need to keep the animals and rain out, so these rules can be relaxed a bit.

Mark Woodmark
08-15-2010, 11:00 AM