PDA

View Full Version : Union #5 -- Restore as user questions

Ken Cohen
08-13-2010, 1:12 PM
Hi --

I bought a Union #5 at a local consignment shop that was looking to unload all of its planes (I ended up with 10 other planes for free -- probably junk, but I'll cover in another post).
I am relatively new to hand work and wanted a bench plane to complement my old, restored #4.

Before viewing, I checked this site and found out that Unions are theoretically comparable to Stanleys. On inspection, the plane seemed sound, save for one big and one little flaw. My investment is very small, so if I can turn it into a good user, great -- if not, no big deal.

Hopefully attached pix tell the story. Issues as I see them:

Lateral adjuster: bent out of shape and currently useless. Metal seems easily pliable, so bending back to correct shape seems doable, but I need a reference as to the proper shape.

Bigger problem with the lateral adjuster is that the connection with the frog has come loose, allowing significant up/down movement at the rivet. Need a suggested fix please.

Handle: Probably marginally useful in current condition. Need thoughts. (Also, is the front screw added?)

Blade: Not a problem, but how do I tell if it's worth fixing up?

Otherwise, everything seems sound. No obvious cracks in the castings. Sole close to flat, etc.

I would appreciate advice on the specific issues and any general restoration advice. FYI, I plan to clean/restore it as a user, i.e. not worry too much about preserving its vintage look.

Thanks in advance for the time and suggestions.

Ken

David Weaver
08-13-2010, 1:19 PM