PDA

View Full Version : Top three questions from a rookie turner

Mac Houtz
08-13-2010, 10:14 AM
I have been messing around with wood for about ten years, building furniture mostly. Turning has always looked like a lot of fun, but up until now had not worked its way to the top of the list. Some recent projects are requiring that I either take it up myself or get someone else to turn parts for me, which I found distasteful. So here I go, I found a pretty good deal on a three year old Jet mini, which should be sufficient since the parts I need are all small enough to fit on there, and subsequent to that I would like to try turning some duck calls.

My three questions to start off are:

1. If you were just starting turning all over again, and knew what you know now, what would your most basic tool kit include? What brand of turning tools, and which tools are the top five "core" tools? ( I am pretty sure that the ones that came with my lathe are junk)

2. What is the best book/dvd out there for beginning techniques?

3. What was your #1 easily avoidable "uh-oh" moment when you were new to turning? What are the major pitfalls to be aware of and watch for?

Thanks for any info you can give me in advance, I have learned a ton from the other forums on SMC and look forward to some feedback.

I will also do a search on here and see what that turns up with regards to beginner info.

Dennis Ford
08-13-2010, 10:58 AM
Hi Mac;
#1;
Start with 1 each, spindle gouge, bowl gouge & parting tool. My next choice would be a skew. That is only four, buy others after you learn those unless you like to collect tools. Benjaman's Best are execellent value tools and they are inexpensive enough that you won't have to worry about grinding away expensive steel.
#2;