PDA

View Full Version : Why Don't They Make Dumb Phones?

Mike Null
08-13-2010, 9:59 AM
I have just acquired a Blackberry "Smart" phone. I figured being semi-literate on a computer would qualify me to use one of these gadgets. But I was wrong. I've been using cell phones for about 15 years--back then I thought I understood them.

These new phones are just too complicated--after all when you're on the phone everything is instantaneous so to speak so you don't have time to look things up in the manual which isn't that good anyway. The frustration and embarrassment of not being able to make this thing work is wearing on me.

Why don't they at least make you pass an IQ test before being allowed to buy one of these things. Failure would leave only the option of a DUMB phone. If they still make any.

Dave Lehnert
08-13-2010, 10:12 AM
I use a Tracfone. Makes phone calls and thats it.
Works for me.

mike holden
08-13-2010, 10:12 AM
They still make "dumb" phones, just check the ads in Readers Digest and the AARP journal. Believe they are called: "jitterbug"
Thinking seriously about getting one when my contract runs out.
Mike

Dan Hintz
08-13-2010, 10:31 AM
Mike,

Once you get used to how one "smart" phone works, the other ones are significantly easier to use. It's a different way of thinking, for sure, figuring out what features are available and how they affect operation. From phone to phone, though, it's more of a game to find where they hid a specific feature, not necessarily how to use it.

Ken Fitzgerald
08-13-2010, 10:42 AM
Mike,

Did the phone include a manual?

I bought a GPS yesterday evening at Costco.]

It came with a 4 page manual. If you aren't computer literate, you would be in a world of hurt with that thing.

Mike Hollingsworth
08-13-2010, 10:45 AM
I'm always amazed when my five year old nephew shows me all the things my iPhone can do.

Jeff Bratt
08-13-2010, 10:47 AM
Quote from Bjarne Stroustrup (actually a big-time computer guy)