PDA

View Full Version : Bar Top Finish

Tony Bilello
08-12-2010, 9:38 PM
I am about to bid on a job where the owner wants a Bar Top Finish. I have never done this before and am looking for people that actually have used this stuff. I will be using Envirotex because that is what I can get locally. These type finishes are probably all the same or close to it. Anyway, I don’t need info on cost or mixing. I need info for the actual application. The person I need to talk to locally is on vacation this week and next week and I want to get a price out by Monday morning. From what I gather, it is not difficult I just have to work fast.
What do I really need to know?
Thanks in advance.

Scott Holmes
08-13-2010, 12:29 AM
What type of wood?

Working fast is not that big a deal. Working LEVEL is a big deal.

A thin first coat will allow the finish to soak in and seal the wood; so, when you do the thick coat you will not have trapped air coming up after it has started to cure.

The heat, NOT the FLAME, from a propane torch will help pop the bubbles that come up while it still wet. Hair drier and heat guns are too much air and too much heat.

Tony Bilello
08-13-2010, 8:16 AM
I will be using Honduras mahogany. I was thinking of using the hose from my Earlex 5000 because it always has warm air coming out. I was told that it was not good to 're-coat' or use more than one coat unless I wait at least 8 hours. Is this true?
The cost is over $100/gallon but I will order plenty extra to practice on.
Thanks for thr speedy reply.

Scott Holmes
08-13-2010, 9:41 AM
I don't know about using the HVLP hose. I'm not sure if the warm air or the CO2 is more important. I'd try the HVLP; no chance of "flame" damage.

I like to brush on the first light coat and let it dry over night. I'm sure if it says 8 hours then that's long enough.

Real Honduras Mahogany? Really, where are you getting your supply in the Houston area?