PDA

View Full Version : First Little Box - Stone and Wood

Paul Douglass
08-12-2010, 10:16 AM
This is my first attempt at turning a lidded box and first attempt at using stone and wood. I didn't have a "Chunk" of cocobolo big enough to turn anything so as you can tell I stacked pieces. Next time I will try staved.

I decided I don't like the knob on top the lid in stone. I thought it had to be stone but after finishing I think it may have been better wood.

I'd appreciate you input on what and how to improve. This is pretty knew to me. I have a lot to learn so please fire away.

Peter Lamb
08-12-2010, 10:33 AM
You should be very proud. It's beautiful!
Bonnie Klein would approve.
Peter

John Keeton
08-12-2010, 11:15 AM
Paul, you did a very nice job with this! Personally, I like the stone knob, though it does look darker than the band. Could be just the lighting. If it is darker, perhaps another piece of the stone that would more closer match the band.

On stacking the coco, I think one could minimize that with an embellishment - perhaps a textured band, a bead, or a cove/bead combo - and, it may not even be noticeable.

Great work, and a nice finish!

bob svoboda
08-12-2010, 11:25 AM
Paul. I agree with John-I like the stone knob. That's a really nice box, especially for a first!

Chris Colman
08-12-2010, 11:30 AM
Beautiful! I love cocobolo. I just can't afford as much of it as I would like to buy.

What are the dimensions? Hard to judge scale.

Steve Mawson
08-12-2010, 11:41 AM
Nice box, I like the way you recessed the lid into the box. Don't have much opinion on the knob. Wood would be fine but stone is unique as well.

Mark Hubl
08-12-2010, 1:07 PM
Nice little box. I like the combo.

Pete Jordan
08-12-2010, 5:17 PM
Very nice, Paul!

Did you glue a circle of stone and then finish? A little tutorial would be nice.

Curt Fuller
08-12-2010, 5:24 PM