PDA

View Full Version : Need guidance on next tool purchase

Matt Logana
08-10-2010, 10:56 PM
How often is it that someone asks you how to spend their money... well I'm askin'!

Being a new woodworker, I have a very limited arsenal of what I can make my projects with. I have in my arsenal:

-Corded Drill
-Cordless Drill
-Corded JigSaw
-Angle Grinder(not really for wood, but it works for cutting through nails)
-14" Bandsaw
-And a bunch of hand tools (Hammers, Wrenches, handsaw, et cetera)

But thats about it.

So my question is: What should be my next purchase. I have some available funds to spend on my shop and on my tools/projects (A total of a grand, but would perfer to keep it close to zero as possible. Since this is my slush fund until I can get a part time job in the winter(Turning 16 so I should be able to get a position somewhere)

I am eventually going to do a router table, but thats not something Ill buy outright, but rather build what I can (Buy a lift if needed, obviously a router, et cetera.)

But I wasnt sure: Should I be looking at a Table Saw? A Jointer? Planer? A Radial Arm Saw (Or Radical Harm Saw if your a wise guy.) ?

I have noticed a fair amount of RAS on Craigslist for in the $60 range. Should I persue one of these?

One thing though, I dont have a helluva lot of room. A Single Car garage.

Any guidance?

I plan to drop about $250 on the shop after a pending issue is settled, so consider that eatten up out of the POSSIBLE 1k... I cant start that now, because if they decide to sell, Id rather that money not go out the window... That would include heating and finishing(drywall, studs, etc.)

Thanks.
Sincerely,
Matt

(Ps: Please dont hold your comments over the age: I know very well safe operating procedures of most tools having seen them in use by family members/friends at one point or another. I just wanted to ensure that I would find a thread full of "Careful Sonny" remarks. :) )

Victor Robinson
08-11-2010, 12:15 AM