PDA

View Full Version : VL-300 Cutting Table Problem

Marianne Oteiza
08-10-2010, 5:54 PM
Hi All,

First, let me say that SMC is now my new best friend. I have been lingering in the background for a couple of months and have gleaned so much info. Thanks to all of you!

We bought a Versalaser VL300 in 2006 for our scrapbook store. Primarily for die-cuts for our customers. And a few frames on occasion. Long story short, the business is gone and I have moved the laser to my home. The set-up is virtually identical to the store set-up except that it no longer exhausts through the ceiling. The laser is in sitting room, the blower is by the sliding glass doors and I fling the vent hose out onto the patio when needed.

PROBLEM: I no longer have any downdraft when using the honeycomb table. None whatsoever. Why?? Other than no downdraft, the unit works perfectly. This has been an issue for 18 months. I have spoken to Universal, Laserbits, and Engraving Systems Support with no luck. Any idea as to what has happened or how to fix it? (Please..I've checked and cleaned the plenum!)

Using a Penn State DC-3XL 1.5 hp blower.

Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions.

Dan Hintz
08-10-2010, 7:37 PM
Are you getting a good flow of air out of the DC?

Are you getting good suction right at the tube's connection to the laser (remove it and place your hand over the tube's opening)?

Is the vector table clean of all debris?

Do you have a good seal between the vector table and the back of the machine where it connects to the tube?

Lee DeRaud
08-10-2010, 9:16 PM
Pull the hose of the DC inlet: I suspect some debris got lodged there. You apparently still have enough airflow to pull the smoke off the top of your material, but not enough to get flow through the vector table.

Marianne Oteiza
08-11-2010, 10:16 AM
Hi Guys -

Dan -

Good airflow - yes (best way to blow the cat hair out from behind the sofa :))