PDA

View Full Version : question on box building

Karl Card
08-08-2010, 11:18 AM
I am new to building boxes and have several cut out and ready to go together for the most part. I did one with some old 2x4's just to get an ideal of what I am doing.

I got my box joint jig made and it seems to be working pretty good. I have a larger router but so that I can cut the pins and tails flush with the side of the box. There is so little hangover on the pins and tails that I may could just sand them down with ras, but I didnt want to take the chance and put a "dip" in the side of the box.

Here is my huge real big problem though, the bottom. on mitered corners on a box I did for practice I just dado cut each side and slid the bottom and top in respectively and then glued up the joints and tada.... but on box joint at each corner how can I or what is the nicest way for a beginner to attach or install the bottom ?

I did do a google search and all I am finding is text instructions.... well I really need a picture...

Ray Newman
08-08-2010, 12:43 PM
?? Box slotting bits from Lee Valley??

www.leevalley.com/us/wood/page.aspx?p=47818&cat=1,46168,46176&ap=1 (http://www.leevalley.com/us/wood/page.aspx?p=47818&cat=1,46168,46176&ap=1)

Jim Summers
08-08-2010, 1:22 PM
?? Box slotting bits from Lee Valley??

www.leevalley.com/us/wood/page.aspx?p=47818&cat=1,46168,46176&ap=1 (http://www.leevalley.com/us/wood/page.aspx?p=47818&cat=1,46168,46176&ap=1)

Neat idea.

I wonder if you can build your box, clamp it together and then use the cutter? Then if anything bad happens all you have to do is redo the messed up piece?

Hmmmmm.

Karl Card
08-08-2010, 1:45 PM
I am under the assumption that those bits are used after you clamp the four sides together so it kind of makes a dado cut all the way around without it showing at the box jointed corners....???

sounds pretty cool.... I wished they were here like yesterday....lol

David Christopher
08-08-2010, 2:11 PM