PDA

View Full Version : Fixing cocked mortises

Tom Henderson2
08-06-2010, 3:15 PM
Gents-

I'm new to hand-cut M&T joints, so I have a lot to learn.

If I pooch a tenon, I can glue the offcut back on and try again.

What options do I have if the tenon is chopped at a slight angle?

I was delighted at how well my first hand-cut tenon fit into my first hand-chopped mortise; just a few minutes with a router plane and it fit quite nicely into the mortise.

Unfortunately, the mortise isn't quite square which will give me trouble when I go to assemble the piece. I didn't measure the angle but it is enough to be quite obvious at first glance.

One option is to undercut one side of the mortise until the stretcher fits square to the leg. That means I'll probably only get glue contact on that one side of the tenon, but at least it will all be square.

Any other suggestions? I'm hoping I don't have to throw the leg away and start over....

-Tom in Ventura

john brenton
08-06-2010, 3:27 PM
Shims.

Pooched...I like that.

Gents-

I'm new to hand-cut M&T joints, so I have a lot to learn.

If I pooch a tenon, I can glue the offcut back on and try again.

What options do I have if the tenon is chopped at a slight angle?

I was delighted at how well my first hand-cut tenon fit into my first hand-chopped mortise; just a few minutes with a router plane and it fit quite nicely into the mortise.

Unfortunately, the mortise isn't quite square which will give me trouble when I go to assemble the piece. I didn't measure the angle but it is enough to be quite obvious at first glance.

One option is to undercut one side of the mortise until the stretcher fits square to the leg. That means I'll probably only get glue contact on that one side of the tenon, but at least it will all be square.

Any other suggestions? I'm hoping I don't have to throw the leg away and start over....

-Tom in Ventura

David Weaver
08-06-2010, 3:50 PM