PDA

View Full Version : OK, I'm easily amused....

Michael James
08-03-2010, 9:53 PM
Just wanted to post a couple of pics of the little bowl I made from the piece of Hickory in Donny's care package. Hit it with steel wool, white diamond and buffed ren wax. Simple form, but really nice looking wood!
I have never worked with this wood before and it has been pure delight. I will stare at those knots and beautiful chestnut coloring for hours. My "office" bookcases were made out of knotty pine and I buffed every dang knot in the room until it shines!!!!

Michael

ps- yes, I know there's a glare in the pics.... I dont care!!! You have to give me credit for putting the phone down and getting a real camera. Sometimes progress takes time.:cool:

Bernie Weishapl
08-03-2010, 10:03 PM
That is a great looking piece. Really like the simple form and finish.

John Keeton
08-03-2010, 10:05 PM
Wow!! Michael, you certainly have a nice looking bowl there! Beautiful wood with a lot of character and color, and the form is very nice, as well. Great job!

David E Keller
08-03-2010, 10:10 PM
That's great. I like the simple continuous curve and coloring.

Cathy Schaewe
08-03-2010, 10:27 PM
MJ - that looks really nice! The guitar may be suffering from lack of attention, but the lathe clearly is not .... :)

Donny Lawson
08-03-2010, 10:28 PM
Michael, you done a great job on that piece.If I get more of that I will let you know.Right now I have a great BIG piece of Sycamore burl that came from under the ground and I'm dying to get into it.I cut into just a piece of the root and it is hard to describe other that WOW!!!!!. I think Michael could use a piece of this.I have to get some pics of this and post it tomorrow.
Donny

David DeCristoforo
08-03-2010, 10:48 PM
That's... well... OK, lovely. There. I said it. I have been discovering just how hard it is to make those deeply undercut forms, especially when you try to go that thin.

Norm Zax
08-04-2010, 3:48 AM