PDA

View Full Version : My newest Festool!

Cliff Holmes
08-01-2010, 7:10 PM
In one of my other lives, I'm a wedding photographer. One of the guests at a wedding I shot last year runs a custom cabinet shop. He contacts me about shooting his work at a particularly nice custom home so he can use it in promotions.

So, I meet him at his shop to talk about the job. Then he tells me money's kinda tight and he want to work out some kind of trade. Well, I don't exactly have a burning need for custom cabinet work, even at a discount rate, so I'm getting ready to leave. Then I see a Systainer for a TS55 on a shelf. So I take a chance and ask if he'd be willing to trade it for the photography. Shockingly, he says yes! They had bought it to test out, then decided they really couldn't afford to outfit their entire operation with them right now. So they never even actually used it.

The job took about three hours including travel time and processing, plus I figure about $20 in gas and misc costs. I would have normally charged $200 for the job. So, while not really a killer gloat, I'm pretty pleased with the deal.

On the other hand, he probably thought I would charge a lot more than $200, so he's probably bragging on some other forum about the great deal he got.

-------------------------------------------------
The Wood Nerd
http://www.thewoodnerd.com

Dan Friedrichs
08-01-2010, 9:12 PM
Cliff, it sure seems like the Festool gods have been trying very hard to get you one of these tracksaws lately, eh? :)

Cliff Holmes
08-01-2010, 9:24 PM
Yeah, it was kinda weird.

Now I'm waiting for the Ferrari gods to kick in :)

Scott T Smith
08-01-2010, 9:42 PM
Very nice score Cliff! You're going to love that saw!

How long a track did you get with it?

Cliff Holmes
08-01-2010, 9:44 PM
How long a track did you get with it?

The standard one, 55-inch I think?

Jim Becker
08-01-2010, 10:11 PM
Such a deal!! Congrats!

Rich Engelhardt
08-02-2010, 7:09 AM
The standard one, 55-inch I think?