PDA

View Full Version : Another newbie with an expensive toy

James E Baker
07-31-2010, 1:29 PM
Hi there. I'm new to this forum (joined yesterday), relatively new to LASERs (my VLS4.60 was delivered at the beginning of October), but a long term computer and graphic software user (been playing with computers since 1978, and using CorelDRAW and PhotoShop since both were version 3 releases). I learn by doing.

I'm an Australian that moved to Newfoundland a bit over 2 years ago (yes, I know. I must be mad ... but there was this Canadian that I'd married).

My background is electronics, specifically installing and teaching ground based aviation equipment (stuff like RADARs, Control Towers, Navigational Aids, Instrument Landing Systems, communication equipment, etc, etc). I took an early retirement back in 2000 after 28 years in the industry.

At the moment I'm mostly learning what I can do with the LASER. I did a lot of glassware in the lead up to Christmas, but since then, any profit making production has been minimal.

Martin Boekers
07-31-2010, 1:40 PM
Welcome aboard!

You'll find this forum will be your best resource to lasering.

What I recommend is to start at the first post and read
them all. I did that over four years ago and it got me up and running faster than you can imagine.

You already have a leg up on most of the novices by having and
extensive background in graphics. You can't beat that!

Don't lurk in the background, but jump right in, I'm sure you have
graphics knowledge that will help many of us!

Marty

Viktor Voroncov
07-31-2010, 2:16 PM
Welcome, James,
If you have free time - download some sample files from here, send to laser, and when laser working - read, read, read :)
And remember- show room is 99% of success.

Hope you already have SMC disk?

Larry Bratton
07-31-2010, 3:11 PM
Welcome to the forum James.